Homestay and Field Trip in Kyotango 京丹後のホームステイとフィールドトリップ

Lunch at Sankaikan

On July 7th, 34 international students of Kyoto Prefecture boarded the bus for a 2 day field trip and homestay in Kyotango, in Northern Kyoto Prefecture. Having the opportunity to escape the heat and humidity of Kyoto City’s summer, everybody was really excited during the 3 hour-long trip, and participants became closer really quickly, forming friendships that I hope will last very long.
Many corners of the world were represented in this event; indeed people came from various countries and regions such as Djibouti, Tonga, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Korea, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Sweden, Australia, Germany and Egypt. 14 countries in total!
7月7日に34名の外国籍府民が京丹後の2日間フィールドトリップとホームステイに参加しました。京丹後まで3時間かかりましたが、京都市のとても蒸し暑い夏から逃げることができ、参加者はずっとワクワクして、すぐ仲良くなりました。そのようにできた友情は長く残ったら良いなと思います。このイベントは非常に国際的でした。14カ国・地域からの参加者がいました!ジブチ、トンガ、中国、台湾、香港、韓国、インドネシア、マレーシア、タイ、ベトナム、スウェーデン、オーストラリア、ドイツとエジプトです。素敵でしょう?

After having lunch at Sankaikan, we headed towards the Kinoshita Sake Brewery for a visit of their facilities and a sake tasting tour.
「さんかいかん」で昼食を済ましてから、「木下酒造」を見学しに行きました。

Kinoshita Sake Brewery

On top of being located in a beautiful environment, surrounded by mountains and nature, Kinoshita Sake Brewery has another particularity: they have Japan’s only foreign-born Toji (master brewer and managing director), Philip Harper, born in Britain. As he is a very busy man, we weren’t able to meet him during the tour, but we got the CEO of the brewery to show us around and explain the brewing process of sake. At the end of the tour, we got to taste 2 different sakes. The second one was brewed by Philip Harper and was really refined and sweet; no wonder it has even won prizes!
Some of the participants were adventurous enough to taste the sake ice cream made at the factory, some of them not even knowing it was made from alcohol. But apparently it was good and had a very special flavor, so I guess it was a nice experience for them.

Kinoshita Sake Brewery

木下酒造は綺麗な山や自然に囲まれるだけではなく、日本唯一の外国人の杜氏、Philip Harper氏がそこで勤めています。彼はとても忙しかったので残念ながら会うことができませんでした。木下酒造の社長に見学させてもらい、日本酒の作り方を説明していただきました。見学後、日本酒の二つの種類を試飲できました。二番目はPhilip Harper氏が作られて、受賞したこともある日本酒でしたので、とても上品で甘いお酒でした。
参加者の何人かは日本酒味のアイスクリームも食べてみました!日本酒を使っていることは知らなかった人もいたようですが、特別な味で面白い経験だったそうです。

After the Sake Brewery tour, we went to meet the host families where everybody introduced themselves, before going home with them for the rest of the day. When we asked later, we found out that some of them went all the way to Amano Hashidate, one of Japan’s three most scenic views. I wished I could have gone too! Some had cooking or BBQ parties, tea ceremony experience etc… Overall, everybody had a very nice time experiencing life with a Japanese family and playing with the kids.
酒造見学の後にホストファミリーの皆さんと集合しました。簡単な自己紹介の後、参加者は自分の新しい家族とそれぞれの家に帰りました。次の日に聞いてみたら、何人かが天橋立まで行ったそうです。うらやましいですね。クッキングやBBQパーティ、茶道などを楽しんだ人もいました。日本人の家族と生活したり、子供と遊んだりすることができて、大変良かったと参加者の全てが感じました。

Pounding rice

We gathered again on the second day for a “mochi-making (rice cake) exchange party”. Participants first had to pound the rice with wooden mallets (kine) in a traditional mortar (usu). They had to work in pairs to alternate the work, one pounding and the other turning and wetting the rice cake, being careful to keep a steady rhythm or they might accidentally injure one another with the heavy kine.
They then formed round shapes with the sticky mass of pounded rice and made their own rice cakes, chose the flavor they wanted to eat, between soy sauce, soybean flour (kinako) and red bean paste (anko).
For many, it was their first time making mochi and they really seemed to enjoy the party.

Shaping the rice cake

次の日のお昼過ぎにまた集合して、餅つき交流会を開きました。まず杵でもち米をつきました。重い杵で米を回す人をけがさせないように、リズムをしっかり守るのが大事でした。それから、ついたもち米から丸いお餅を作って、醤油、きなこ、あんこの中で好きな味を選んでお餅を楽しみました。お餅つきは初めての方が多かったので、その「お餅つき交流会」を満喫した人も多かったでしょう。

It was then time for goodbye…. After a lot of pictures, tears, smiles, hugs and promises to meet again, we got back on the bus to return to Kyoto City.
それから、お別れの時間がきてしまいました。。。写真、涙、笑顔、また会おう!という約束の後で、京都市に帰るバスに乗って、この2日間の素敵なフィールドトリップとホームステイが終わりました。

Participants’ voices:
“Having the opportunity to share a Japanese family’s everyday life was a great experience. Even if it was short, I made lifelong memories. It was the best!”
“Everything was so much fun, especially the time spent with my host family. Visiting the sake brewery and making mochi were very Japanese-like experiences and great fun!”
参加者の声:
「日本人の家族と一緒に日常生活を過ごして、とても良い体験でした。短かったですが、一生忘れられない思い出になりました。最高でした!」
「全部楽しかったです。特にホストファミリーと一緒に過ごした時間が良かったです。酒造を見学したり、お餅を作ったりしてとても日本的な経験でした。本当に楽しかったです!」

This entry was posted in International Exchange 国際交流, International Students 留学生, Kyoto Prefectural Center - 京都府国際センター and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

