American Kids Summer Camp アメリカン・キッズ夏休み活動体験

Hey everyone, Margaret from Kameoka here. I’d like to share my recent summer camp event with you.

亀岡市のマーガレットです。先月行ったサマーキャンプのイベントを紹介したいと思います。

On August 19th, I organized a one day summer camp event for kids in Kameoka. When I was growing up in the United States, I participated in summer camps every year during our 3 month summer vacation, and I was excited to have the chance to share some of my experiences with the kids of my town.

8月19日に亀岡市の子供たちがアメリカ人の夏遊びを体験できるように「アメリカン・キッズ 夏休み活動体験」というデーキャンプを行いました。アメリカで育った私は、子供のころ、3ヶ月の夏休みの間に色々なサマーキャンプに毎年参加しました。私にとって夏休みイコールサマーキャンプなので、その経験を生かして亀岡市の子供たちにアメリカのキャンプ遊びを紹介できる機会となり、とても嬉しかったです。

I thought it would be best to have a one day camp where I could teach camp crafts, camp songs, and camp games to the kids. I asked 3 of the Kyoto CIRs (Steven, Alice, and Mark), and 3 of Kameoka’s ALT’s (Lars, Judith, and Mason) to help me out. Rather than try to teach English, I wanted the kids to have the chance to learn about games and crafts played by kids in America and to have a chance to interact with people from a different culture.

京都府の国際交流員3人(スティーブンさん、アリスさん、マークさん)と亀岡市の英語指導助手3人(ラースさん、ジュディスさん、メイソンさん)に協力してもらい、キャンプの代表的な工作、歌、ゲームなどを紹介しました。キャンプの目的は英語を教えることではなく、子供たちにアメリカ人の子供がよくするゲームや工作を体験してもらい、異なる文化を持つ人と交流する機会を与えることでした。

We began with an ice-breaking activity to get the kids loosened up. We stood in a circle and held hands. Then we had to pass a hula hoop around the circle without letting go of our neighbors’ hands. The kids all seemed kind of nervous and wouldn’t talk in the beginning, but by the end of the game they were already making friends with the CIRs and ALTs. As we went downstairs to start decorating shirts I could see some of the kids were still holding hands and talking happily to their new friends.

まずは、子供たちに輪になって手をつないでもらって、アイスブレークをしました。手をつないだまま、一人ひとりが体を通し、フラフープを回していくゲームにより、最初、おどおどして、おとなしくしていた子供たちが、ゲームが終わった後には一緒にワイワイしていました。その緊張感が解れたみたいです。次の場所へ移動するとき、国際交流員(CIR)や英語指導助手(ALT)と仲良くして、手をつないだまま、ひそひそで喋っている子も何人かいました。

Ice-breaking

We started the activities by decorating t-shirts, which is a very popular camp activity. The kids created their own unique designs using tape and stencils. They used special fabric spray paint to add color and when they removed the stencils and the tape the design was left in white. Each of the kids brought their own creativity to the project and they took a lot of time creating their designs.

そして、子供たちはキャンプで大人気の工作であるTシャツペイントに挑戦しました。まずはテープや型紙を使ってデザインを考えてもらいました。布用のスプレーペイントを使って色を付けてから、テープと型紙を外すと、その部分は白く目立ちます。子供たちは、想像力を生かし、焦らずしっかりデザインを考えていました。

Creating T-shirt designs

Another big theme in American camp crafts is the idea of “re-use.” We often use packaging from snacks or drinks to make crafts that we can use in a new way. We used passed out cans of Pringles during the break and the ALTs showed the kids how to make a duck face with their chips. It reminded me of playing with my friends as a child. They used markers, construction paper and origami to design the outside of the can. Then we used see through colored plastic strips to create the kaleidoscope on the lid. The staff jumped right in the middle to help explain the directions. When finished, the kids excitedly watched the changing colors of their kaleidoscopes.

アメリカのキャンプではリユース(再利用)というのが工作の一つのテーマになっています。容器包装を使う工作が非常に多いです。今回は、プリングルスというポテトチップスの缶を使って万華鏡を作ることにしました。プリングルスを渡して、休憩をしました。その間、ALTたちがチップスを使ってアヒルの口を作る食べ方を教えているのを見て、懐かしい気持ちになりました。その後、子供たちはマジック、色紙、折り紙などを使って缶の外側を飾りました。そして、色ビニールをふたに貼って万華鏡を作りました。スタッフも積極的に子供たちの中に入って作り方を教えてくれました。子供たちはニコニコして出来上がった万華鏡を楽しく見ていました。

Duck faces

We finished up with a special hand-game I learned at camp. It was great to see the kids getting excited and involved with each other, even though only three hours before they had been strangers. That’s the power of camp!

最後に、キャンプの手遊びで盛り上がってから解散しました。3時間前には初対面だった子供が多かったのですが、最後のゲームでワイワイしている子供たちを見て嬉しかったです。それはキャンプの力だと思いました。

Hand game

スタッフの声

Alice

Being not from America myself, I had a great time with international exchange at the American Kids camp. We had 2 wonderful cartoonists in the staff, so the kids could “order” any kind of shape they wanted to spray on their T-shirt. Very interesting designs were born this way, such as smiling planes above a sea of rainbow clouds etc. Everyone was painting excitedly and many ended up with very colorful hands and elbows.

アメリカ人じゃないのでこのキャンプは私にもいい交流になりました。スタッフの中で二人の素敵な画家がいましたので、子供が欲しい形を注文できて、とても良かったです。そのように虹色の雲の上で笑っている飛行機が飛んでいるというような面白いデザインがたくさん生まれました。ペイントで盛り上がって、手と腕もカラフルになりました。

The kaleidoscopes were really fun as well. The kids were amazed that you can reuse something like Pringles cans in such a funny way, and I must admit I was as well! I helped kids to do their own design, and it was very fun to reflect together about what to put next on the box: a whale? A sea? A yellow bird? Etc… It brought me back to my childhood and was really refreshing.

カレイドスコープづくりも楽しかったです。アメリカで有名な「プリングル」と言うお菓子を食べてから、その缶を再利用して、万華鏡を作りました。子供達はおかしの缶をそんなふうに再利用できることにとてもビックリしていました。実は私にとっても面白い体験でした。子供達とデザインを一緒に考えました。次何描こうかな?クジラ?海?黄色い鳥?色々提案しながら万華鏡の飾りに挑戦しました。また、自分の幼い頃を思い出させて懐かしくて、リフレッシュできました。

Kaleidoscope making

We don’t have many occasions to interact with Japanese kids and this was a very very great opportunity to do so while opening them up to new cultures and way of thinking. I hope I will be able to participate again next year!

外国籍府民の私にとって、日本人の子供と一緒に遊ぶ機会が少ないですので、とても有意義なイベントでした。それから子供達に新しい文化と考え方を紹介できてとても良かったと思います。来年もまた参加できたら嬉しいです!

Steven

The summer camp was a great time. The kids seemed to both understand and enjoy the games, even though they were different from what they were used to. It was also fun for me getting to participate in games with kids and help them with their crafts. At first I was worried that the kids would be too intimidated to interact with adults, especially non-Japanese adults, but most of the kids were actually very excited to play with us and show us the kaleidoscopes and shirts they made. Even some of the shyer kids were clearly enjoying themselves by the end. Overall, I think everyone had a lot of fun.

「アメリカン・キッズ」は大成功でした。子供たちは、初めてのゲームにもかかわらず、すらすら慣れて、楽しめたようです。私も子どもたちと一緒にゲームに参加したり子供たちの工作を手伝ったりして楽しかったです。最初は子供たちが知らない外国人の大人と接することを怖く思っているのではないかと心配していましたが、子供たちは非常に楽しそうに一緒に遊んでくれたり、できあがった万華鏡とシャツを見せてくれたりもしました。最初には恥ずかしそうな子供たちでも、だんだん慣れて、とても楽しい様子でした。全体的に、みんなが楽しめたイベントだと思います。

Mark

On the 19th August, I took went to Kameoka for the first time to take part in the American Kids Summer Camp event, run by the local Coordinator for International Relations. Not being from the USA myself, I wasn’t entirely sure of what to expect, but the whole point of the event was to introduce a different experience to the local children, so I was very excited to play my part!

8月19日(日)、亀岡市の国際交流員が企画するアメリカン・キッズ・サマー・キャンプに参加するため、初めて亀岡市へ行きました。僕自身は米国出身ではないので、どんな感じになるかよく分からなかったですが、日本の子供たちに他文化や新しい経験を紹介するためのイベントでしたので、参加することに楽しみにしていました!

“Playing” my part really was the order of the day; I didn’t quite estimate just how much energy young children have, and despite ending up exhausted at the end of the day, I thoroughly enjoyed helping the kids make their t-shirts, kaleidoscopes, and playing games with them!

子供たちがどれほど元気なのか全然予想できなかったので、終わる頃には大変疲れてしまいましたが、Tシャツや万華鏡を作ったり、一緒にゲームしたり、すごく楽しみました!

Playing!

This was my first time as a sort of moderator for a children’s event, and I had an absolute blast, and I hope I can contribute to events like this in the future!

(A+++ would recommend to a friend!)

今回は初めて子供のイベントでのスタッフを経験しましたが、楽しく参加できたので、これからこのようなイベントにぜひ参加させてもらえたら、とても嬉しく思います!

This entry was posted in International Exchange 国際交流, Kameoka - 亀岡市 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

