Mark goes to Kyotango! マークは京丹後に行ってきました~

Hello everyone, it’s Mark from Kyoto Prefecture’s International Affairs Division. I’d like to write a short something about a recent field trip on which I went!

こんにちは、皆さん!京都府国際課のマークです~。この前、僕が参加したフィールド・トリップについてちょっと伝えたいと思っています。

On Saturday the 20th October, I was asked by my office to help out on a field trip that Kyoto Prefecture was jointly organising, in cooperation with Kyotango City and their international exchange association. As the field trip was for Kyoto’s Sangyo University exchange students, they asked me to come along to help with things like translating and interpreting.

10月20日(土)に京都府、京丹後市と国際会館により企画されたフィールド・トリップに参加してほしいと頼まれました。京都産業大学の留学生が参加して、僕は色々な翻訳や通訳するということでした。

It was a really early start on Saturday morning, getting picked up by the bus from the Prefectural Office at around 8am, to start the long drive up to Kyotango. The atmosphere on the bus was an odd mix of sleepiness and excitement for the weekend ahead. After a brief stop on the way, we eventually arrived in Kyotango around 11:30am, and after a few opening and welcoming words, we got straight to work on producing handkerchiefs. We were given paints and stencils, and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, despite a couple of the students not perhaps getting the end result they were hoping for! I was very proud of my 95/100 score given to me by one of the ladies teaching us.

土曜日は早く起きて、京都府庁から8時頃バスに乗りました。バスの中は眠さと週末のワクワク感で不思議な雰囲気がありました。途中で休憩を一度とってから、11時半頃京丹後市に到着しました。歓迎や挨拶の後で、ハンカの作り方を教えてもらって、皆は自分のハンカ作りを楽しめたと思います。思い描いていた物を作れなかった人もいましたが、僕のハンカチは95点をもらったので、嬉しかったです!

Afterwards, everyone was very hungry, and so we had lunch nearby. We were taught how to make bara-zushi, and everyone made their own, piled high with rice, fish, and egg. We were also served local bonito and soup, for a typical Kyotango meal.

その後、お腹がペコペコだったので、近くでバラ寿司の作り方を学んで、自分でバラ寿司を作ったり、食べたりしました。魚やおすましもあって、伝統的な京丹後の食事でした。ごちそうさまでした!

The next part of our busy schedule took us to the centre built to protect and promote the Kotohiki-hama beach. This beach is special because its sand is so clean, that it makes a sound, somewhat like the koto, when you walk on it. After an explanation and a chance to make decorative candles with the sand, we all had a chance to go down to the beach and experience the beach and the stunning view of the sea for ourselves.

次は琴引浜の保護・教育・推進を行うセンターに行きました。そこで、砂のきれいさで、浜を歩いたら琴のような音がすることを説明いただいて、鳴き砂のろうそくを作りました。その後、実際に浜辺に行って、きれいな景色を眺めながら鳴き砂を体験できました!

Eventually we headed over to the hostel on the coast, where we all kicked off our shoes and had a rest from the busy day. Before the fantastic dinner, we were visited and given a few short words from the vice-governor of Kyoto Prefecture, the mayor of Kyotango, and the head of the local international exchange association. We were also very happy to receive a few bottles of local sake for everyone (over 20, of course) to sample. The rest of the night was spent relaxing in the hot springs of the hostel, and getting to know each other over some of the delicious sake.

やっと、海岸にあるホステルに到着して、リラックスできました。すばらしい晩ご飯の前に、京都府副知事、京丹後市長、国際会館会長が挨拶しました。その上、京丹後のお酒をもらって、(もちろん20歳以上の人のみ)飲んでみたり、温泉を楽しんだり、皆と一緒に喋っていました。

The next day was another early rise, and after a traditional breakfast, with some of us feeling a little more fragile than others, we headed out early for the second day of a busy schedule. Visiting the local Eco-energy plant, we got to see Kyotango’s environmentally friendly power plant in action, before heading out to the local fair. There we were able to sample plenty of delicious local food, see various performances on stage, and for some of the group, dabble in some bargain shopping!

翌日も早起きし、伝統的な朝ご飯の後、少し「疲れ」を感じていた人も含めて、ホステルを出発しました。京丹後のエコ・エネルギーセンターを見学して、あじわいの郷というフェスティバルに行きました。おいしい料理や京丹後の食べ物を食べてみたり、色々なパフォーマンスもあって、ショッピングの機会も楽しめました!

After a sleepy journey back through a traffic jam, everyone made it back safely. I hope everyone had a good time, as I enjoyed myself a lot! It was a really great chance to, not only see part of Kyoto Prefecture that’s so different from the City itself, but to meet other exchange students and people my own age. I hope we all keep in touch and go on another field trip again soon!

渋滞のせいで到着は少し遅れましたが、無事に帰れました。留学生の皆は楽しく参加したようだし、僕もすごく楽しめました!京都市以外の京都府を体験するチャンスであっただけでなく、同じような年齢の留学生に会えて、本当に嬉しく思っています。連絡を取り合って、将来またフィールド・トリップに参加することを楽しみにしています!

Mark

マーク

This entry was posted in International Students 留学生, Kyoto Prefectural Office - 京都府国際課 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

