3rd Annual American Kids 第3回の「アメリカン・キッズ」

Hey everyone, Margaret from Kameoka here. I’d like to share my recent event “American Kids” with you.

亀岡市のマーガレットです。先月行った「アメリカン・キッズ」というイベントを紹介したいと思います。

On May 25th, we held the 3rd annual American Kids summer day camp for kids in Kameoka. When I was growing up in the United States, I participated in summer camps every year during our 3 month summer vacation, and I am glad I have had the chance to share some of my experiences with the kids of my town.

5月25日に亀岡市の子供たちがアメリカ人の夏遊びを体験できるように第3回の「アメリカン・キッズ」というデーキャンプを行いました。アメリカで育った私は、子供のころ、3ヶ月の夏休みの間に色々なサマーキャンプに毎年参加しました。私にとって夏休みイコールサマーキャンプなので、その経験を生かして亀岡市の子供たちにアメリカ人の子どもの遊びを紹介できる機会があり、とても嬉しかったです。

I designed the event as a one day camp where I could teach camp craftsand games to the kids. I asked 3 of the Kyoto CIRs (Steven, Alice, and Mark), and 2 of Kameoka’s ALT’s (Lars and Mason) to help me out. Rather than try to teach English, I wanted the kids to have the chance to learn about games and crafts played by kids in America and to have a chance to interact with people from a different culture.

京都府の国際交流員3人(スティーブンさん、アリスさん、マークさん)と亀岡市の英語指導助手2人(ラースさんとメイソンさん)に協力してもらい、キャンプの代表的な工作とゲームなどを紹介しました。キャンプの目的は英語を教えることではなく、子供たちにアメリカ人の子供がよくするゲームや工作を体験してもらい、異なる文化を持つ人と自然に交流する機会を与えることでした。

20130525133532

Staff Members スタッフ

We began with an ice-breaking activity to get the kids loosened up. We stood in a circle and had to pass a balloon around the circle without using our hands. It was especially difficult when there was a big height difference. The kids all seemed kind of nervous at first, but by the end of the game they were all laughing and making friends with the CIRs and ALTs.

まずは、子供たちに輪になってもらって、アイスブレークをしました。手を使わずに膝に挟んだ風船を回していくゲームでした。子供と大人のスタッフの身長の差があってとても難しかったときもありました。最初、おどおどして、おとなしくしていた子供たちが、ゲームが終わる前から笑いながら国際交流員(CIR)や英語指導助手(ALT)と仲良くしていて、緊張感が解れたみたいです。

Ice Breaking アイスブレーキング

Ice Breaking アイスブレーキング

This year we introduced a very difficult but very popular craft: a dreamcatcher. A dreamcatcher is a traditional Native American protective charm. If you hang it over your bed it will catch nightmares in the net and they will disappear, but good dreams will pass through the center hole and travel down the “legs” and into your head.

今年は、作り方が複雑の有名なドリームキャッチャーを紹介しました。ドリームキャッチャーというのは、ネイティブアメリカンの伝統的なお守りです。ベッドの上に飾ると、悪夢は網に捕まってしまって消えますが、良い夢は中の穴を通して飾り足を通って頭に入るそうです。

写真

Dreamcatcher ドリームキャッチャー

Many of the kids had trouble with the intricate weaving, but with the help of the parents and staff members, each kid made their own beautiful dreamcatcher.

編むのがかなり細かい作業ですが、手伝っている保護者やスタッフと一緒に子供たち全員がきれいなドリームキャッチャーを完成できました。

Making Dreamcatchers   ドリームキャッチャー作り

Making Dreamcatchers   ドリームキャッチャー作り

20100804015442

Making Dreamcatchers   ドリームキャッチャー作り

Then it was time for the relay races. First the kids had to race with a tennis ball between their knees. Some tried to run and some tried to jump, but everyone had a good time. Then, the kids learned the American style crab walk.

次は、リレーゲームでした。まずは、テニスボールを膝の間に挟んでコースの往復を走るゲームでした。走ってみる子供と跳んでみる子供もいましたが、みんなが楽しくしていたようでした。その後はアメリカの「カニウォーク」を教えました。

20130525153237

Tennis Ball Relay テニスボールリレー

20130525154154

American Crab Walk アメリカのカニウォーク

We finished up with a special English book introducing body parts and movements. All the kids joined in yelling out the answers and had great fun copying the motions together even though only three hours before they had been strangers. That’s the power of camp!

最後に、英語の絵本の読み聞かせタイムがありました。体の部分や動きを紹介する絵本で、3時間前には初対面だった子供が多かったのですが、一緒に答えを叫んで、動きを楽しくマネしていた子供を見て嬉しかったです。それはキャンプの力だと思いました。

20130525155719

Reading an English Book    英語の絵本の読み聞かせタイム

This entry was posted in International Exchange 国際交流, Kameoka - 亀岡市 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

