Christmas Candle Event in Kizugawa City

Brian from Kizugawa City here.
皆さん、こんにちは!木津川市のブライアンです。

On December 7th, Kyotanabe City, Seika Town, and Kizugawa City had a candle-making event for Christmas. The CIRs of the three municipalities – me, Polly, and Steven got together to host this Christmas event.

12月7日に、「エコキャンドルdeメリークリスマス」という3市町国際交流員共同イベントを開催しました。今回はクリスマスにあたってキャンドル作りイベントにしました。私(木津川市)とポリー(京田辺市)、スティーブン(精華町)が集まって、子どもと楽しい時間を過ごしました。

 3 towns event

3 towns event

First, we introduced the American and British traditions for Christmas, as well as Hanukkah. We sang Christmas and Hanukkah songs and we made Christmas candles. The candles were eco-friendly candles made from expired oil, oil solidifier, crayons, and essential oil.

まず、アメリカ・イギリスのクリスマスとハヌカについて話しました。サンタさんのいろいろを紹介し、日本とアメリカ・イギリスのクリスマスの食べ物やケーキなどを比べました。賞味期限切れの食用油と凝固剤、クレヨン、アロマオイルを使って、子どもとエコキャンドルを作りました。

 3 towns event

We taught the kids “We Wish You A Merry Christmas.” As expected, many kids knew the melody but didn’t know the lyrics. We started from pronunciation and played games with them.

そして、「We Wish You A Merry Christmas」を一緒に歌いました。ほとんどの参加者はメロディを知っていましたが、歌詞が分かりませんでした。発音の練習をして、歌のゲームをしました。

 3 towns event

Lastly, we wrote our Christmas wishes together.
最後に、一緒にクリスマスの願いを書きました。

3 towns eventI felt that we brought some of the Christmas festivity and sentiment from home to Japan. Even though it was a little early, I was happy that we could gather and celebrate together.

このイベントを通じて、母国のクリスマスの感覚と喜びを少しでも伝えたような気がします。ちょっと早かったですが、子どもと一緒にクリスマスを祝えてよかったと思います。

Merry Christmas, everyone! And please look forward to our next event!
皆さん、メリークリスマス!次のイベントを楽しみにしてください!

This entry was posted in International Exchange 国際交流, Kizugawa - 木津川市, Seika - 精華町 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

