海フェスタ~京都から広がる舞鶴の心~ Umi Festa – Maizuru’s spirit spreads from Kyoto

Sai article umi festa_img_0 Sai article umi festa_img_1舞鶴市国際交流員の崔です! Cui, the CIR from Maizuru here!

舞鶴が「みなとまち」であることは知っていましたが、この夏、「海の京都」の玄関口である舞鶴で「海フェスタ京都」というイベントが開催され、ようやく「古都・京都」と舞鶴の海のイメージが結びつきました。「海フェスタ」とは、「海の恩恵に感謝し、海洋国日本の繁栄を願う日」という「海の日」本来の意義を再認識するための行事として、毎年、全国の主要港湾都市で「海の日」を中心に約2週間、海に関する様々な行事が開催されています。毎回、数十万人という人が参加する海に関する日本最大級のイベントであり、今年は、ここ舞鶴を中心とする京都北部5市2町において、7月19日から8月3日まで盛大に行われました。私は、この「海フェスタ京都」の仕事に携った他、プライベートでも目一杯楽しみ、思い出深い夏となりました。

Sai article umi festa_img_2

開会式の様子 Opening ceremony

I already knew of Maizuru as a port town, but thanks to the “Umi Festa” festival held here, the gate to the seaside of Kyoto, I was finally able to connect both the historical and coastal aspects of the Prefecture.
Umi Festa is held every year in one of the main ports of Japan for 2 weeks around the period of “Umi no Hi” (Sea Day, a national holiday in Japan). It aims at remembering the purpose of that day, which is to feel grateful for the sea and pray for the prosperity of the island country that is Japan. During this period, many events related to the sea are organized.
With more than a hundred thousand people participating, it’s one of the biggest events in Japan and was held from July 19th to August 3rd in Maizuru this year.
I participated in the Umi Festa on both a work and private level, creating many wonderful summer memories.

船の博覧会 ー Boat Exhibition

Sai article umi festa_img_4

海面清掃兼油回収船 「Dr .海洋」 “Dr. Sea” a boat cleaning the sea

「海フェスタ」の目玉の1つは、やはり、期間中に多彩な船が次々に入港し、これらにちなんだ数々のイベントが行われたことでしょう。「海フェスタ京都」のおかげで、これまで知らなかった船を真近に見ることができ、その船に関する知識をたくさん吸収できました。その様子はまるで「船の博覧会」でした。

Sai article umi festa_img_3

浴衣姿で花束を Giving flower bouquets in yukata

深海調査研究船「かいれい」の歓迎式典では、生まれて初めて浴衣を着て、船の責任者の方に花束を贈呈する栄誉に恵まれました。「かいれい」は地震研究など海溝域の研究に重点を置いた研究船として、10,000m級無人探査機「かいこう」の世界最深のマリアナ海溝への潜航支援など、数々の実績があります。先進的な技術で、未知の領域に挑戦する任務に取り組まれていることに私は感銘を受けました。

「海の貴婦人」と呼ばれる練習帆船「海王丸」の寄港対応もさせていただきました。115名の実習生はすべて20歳ぐらいの若い人たちで、操作の大変な帆船での長い航海訓練と船内での集団生活を通じて、団体精神を日々、養っています。

Sai article umi festa_img_6

「海王丸」の寄港 Kaiomaru enters the port

この「海王丸」寄港の目玉の1つは、帆を張る公開訓練「セイルドリル」でしょう。これを見るために多くの市民の皆さんがふ頭に来られました。私も初めて見るので、ワクワクしていました。実習生たちは日頃鍛えたチームワークを発揮し、55メートルものマストにスルスル登り、帆を素早く整えて見事に張りました。よく晴れた青空に白い帆が輝くのを見つめながら、これまでどれほど多くの汗を流して練習してきたのだろうと思い、感動せずにはいられませんでした。

「海王丸」が出港する日、ふ頭には150名近くの保育園児が見送りに来ていました。「ありがとう」のプラカードを持つ子もいて、みんな「また来てね」「ごきげんよう」と一生懸命に叫んでいました。このようにイベントの現場を体験して、子どもたちの小さな心に船に対する夢の種子が残っていくことを感じました。

Sai article umi festa_img_5

深海調査船「かいれい」 “Kairei” the deep sea research ship

Sai article umi festa_img_7

「海王丸」の歓迎式典 Welcoming ceremony of “Kaiomaru”

Sai article umi festa_img_8

勇壮なセイルドリル Sail practice

One of the main attractions of Umi Festa is the impressive number of ships entering the port and the events held there. I was able to discover many boats I didn’t know about and their particularities. It really felt like a boat exhibition.
As part of the welcome ceremony for the deep sea research ship “Kairei” I had the chance to wear yukata for the first time in my life and give a flower bouquet to the ship’s captain.
“Kairei” researches earthquakes and ocean trenches and owns the research device “Kaikou”, able to go up to 10,000m underwater in places such as the Mariana trench.
I was really glad to meet the staff of this boat with such advanced technology and which challenges itself into unknown territories.
I also welcomed the “Kaiomaru”, a practice sailboat nicknamed “the Lady of the Sea”. 115 young interns around 20 years old learn the difficult techniques needed to manoeuvre a sailboat, and learn how to live together as a group as well.
The main attraction with this boat was probably the live practice of deploying the sail. Many people came to see this and I was very excited too. The interns, using the skills acquired during their training, quickly climbed the 55m mast and swiftly deployed the sail. Watching this beautiful white sail across the blue sky, I was really impressed by their skills.
“Kaiomaru” was also welcomed by around 150 kindergarten kids at the port. They were holding thank you signs, and screamed “come back” and “take care” loudly when the ship left. With such an experience, I’m sure the kids’ dreams about ships must have been strengthened.

Sai article umi festa_img_10

「海王丸」の見送り1 Sending off “Kaiomaru”

Sai article umi festa_img_9

「海王丸」の見送り2 Sending off “Kaiomaru”

Sai article umi festa_img_11

「海王丸」の見送り3 Sending off “Kaiomaru”

Sai article umi festa_img_14

ダイヤモンドプリンセス号 Diamond Princess

さて、京都舞鶴港には近年、巨大な外国のクルーズ客船が頻繁に入港するようになりましたが、今回「海フェスタ京都」の期間中に寄港した「ダイヤモンドプリンセス号」はこれまで、京都舞鶴港に寄港した最大級のクルーズ客船であり、乗客定員はなんと2670名。こんな巨大な船がふ頭に寄港している姿は、まるで豪華ホテルが出現したみたいでした。21日朝6時に入港してから同日夜8時に出港するまで、船の周りではイベントが催され、ずっと賑やかでした。「ダイヤモンドプリンセス号」船内しか見ることの出来ない特別ショーがふ頭で上演されたり、下船したお客様たちと地元の人が交流したりと、「人」のにぎわいがそこにありました。私もガイドとして、愛する舞鶴を多くのお客様に紹介しながら、クルーズ客船が運んできてくれた異文化交流の楽しさを目一杯味わうことができ、クルーズ客船に乗ったことがない私にとって、貴重な体験になりました。「海フェスタ京都」期間限定の東西シャトル遊覧船に乗り、海上から望む「ダイヤモンドプリンセス号」の姿もまた格別な威厳がありました。最後に、「ダイヤモンドプリンセス号」が出港する直前、西舞鶴では50年ぶりとなる花火が打ち上げられました。海に浮かぶ豪華ホテルみたいな「ダイヤモンドプリンセス号」の光と相対するように夜空に輝く花火を見て、まちの至るところで笑顔が溢れ、私は「今年最高の日だ」と思いました。

Sai article umi festa_img_13

ダイヤモンドプリセス号の特別 ショー Special show from the Diamond Princess

Sai article umi festa_img_12

京都舞鶴港西港での花火 Fireworks in the western part of Maizuru port

Big foreign cruise ships often come to Maizuru Port but during the Umi Festa, we welcomed the Diamond Princess, which can host up to 2670 persons and was the biggest cruise ship to ever enter Maizuru Port. It felt as if a luxury hotel had just appeared. From its entering at 6am on July 21st to its departure at 8pm, many lively events were organized in the surrounding area.
Special shows that can usually only be seen on board were staged on the pier, and passengers and local inhabitants were able to meet each other.
I acted as a guide for passengers and introduced them to my beloved Maizuru. As I’ve never been on a cruise ship, I was able to hear a lot of different stories and meet people from various backgrounds and cultures.
You could also get on a special shuttle boat to admire the Diamond Princess from the sea. Fireworks were displayed before the boat left, the first ones in 50 years in western Maizuru. Seeing the beautiful lights of that luxurious hotel on the sea and the bright lights of the fireworks in the night sky, I caught myself thinking “it’s the best day of the year!”

ふ頭の盛り上がり - Ambience on the pier

 

Sai article umi festa_img_17

Jazz

「海王丸」のライトアップ Light up of "Kaiomaru"

「海王丸」のライトアップ Light up of “Kaiomaru”

期間中、西港地区では毎日、様々なパフォーマンスが上演されました。「海フェスタ京都」でにぎわうふ頭の風景は、目に触れ耳にするものすべてが新しく変わったようでした。音楽が大好きな私は、夕暮れの港で開催される「潮風JAZZ」に行きました。帆船「海王丸」がまさに優雅な貴婦人のように岸壁で静かに佇み、夕方の空を幾つか雲がたなびく中、落ち着いたJAZZの音楽が流れ、のんびりと夕方をすごしました。夜のとばりが下りつつあり、「海王丸」がライトアップされ、星の光とともに輝いている夜景を観て、また1つロマンチックな舞鶴を見つけました。

さて、ロマンチックを味わったあとはお腹が空きますよね?「海フェスタ京都」の期間中、大野辺緑地では「B級グルメストリート」が開催され、若狭・小浜から丹後、さらには全国で名を知られた美味しい物の屋台約30店舗がふ頭近くの公園に大集合しました。各地の食べ物を一度味わうことができるだけでなく、食べながら様々なショーが楽しめるのは、音楽とグルメを愛する私には最高の組み合わせです!耳で、目で、口で楽しんでしまいました!

Sai article umi festa_img_16

Jazz

Special events were organized every day during the Umi Festa in the western part of the port, and it felt like a completely different world than usual.
Being an adept of music, I went to a jazz concert organized in the evening.
I discovered the romantic side of Maizuru as the stars lit the night sky and the “Kaiomaru” was being lit up. After being romantic though, you are usually hungry right? A special street of B gourmet stalls was set up, with delicious local delicacies from Wakasa, Obama and Tango but also famous food on the national level. Not only could you sample food from every area in Japan but you could also enjoy many events while eating. Being a lover of both good food and music, it was like paradise for me! My ears, eyes and mouth were all delighted!

Sai article umi festa_img_19

B級グルメの会場 Gourmet area

町の盛り上がり - Excitement in town

Sai article umi festa_img_21

民踊を楽しんでいる Enjoying traditionnal dance

伝統的なお祭りも、「海フェスタ京都」とのコラボで例年より盛り上がりました。舞鶴では例年この時期に、「ちゃった祭り」が開催されます。城下町として発展した西舞鶴と近代になって発展した東舞鶴という特色ある2つの中心部をもつ舞鶴では、ちゃった祭りの期間中、それぞれの地域で特色ある行事が行われます。今年、舞鶴に来て良かったのは、祭りを見るだけでなく、「民踊ながし」を体験できたことです。西舞鶴の商店街を舞台に行われるこの行事では、私も市役所の皆さんと一緒に同じ浴衣を着て、踊りました。「舞鶴小唄」に合わせて、ちゃった踊りを踊りました。日頃からお世話になっている他の団体や会社の皆さんもそろいの浴衣で参加しておられ、すれ違うたびに、お互いに声をかけたり、踊りを比べたりしました。たくさんの市民の皆さんが見に来られ、応援していただき、商店街の人々のご好意でお水やお茶、お酒などがふるまわれました。

このお祭りでは、団体ごとの神輿比べがあります。各チームの神輿を見せていただきましたが、どのチームの作品もよく考えてデザインしてあり、作られた皆様をとても尊敬しました。

Sai article umi festa_img_20

民踊ながし前の皆さん With the musicians

Traditional festivals were also held as part of Umi Festa. The “Chatta Festival” is usually held in Maizuru during this period. During this festival, special events are held in both parts of Maizuru (the western part which developed as a port town and the eastern part which developed recently). This year, I was able not only to see the festival but also participate in a popular dance called “Minyo-nagashi”, held in the shopping arcade of western Maizuru. I wore the same yukata as other people in the city hall and danced the “chatta dance” with them. I meet other groups of people from organizations and groups I usually work with, and we compared our moves. Many people came to support us and we received water, tea and even sake from the shop owners.

Sai article umi festa_img_23As part of the festival, there is also a Mikoshi (portable float) competition. Every group had put a lot of thought into the design of their float and I was very impressed. As a closing ceremony, 5,000 fireworks were launched in eastern Maizuru and around 40,000 visitors came.

「ちゃった祭り」のしめくくりとして、東舞鶴では「ちゃった花火」があり、海辺で約4万人のお客さんが集まって観賞しました。皆さん、様々な浴衣を着てとても華やかで綺麗でした。屋台の美味しい食べ物を味わいながら、約5000発の花火を楽しんだ私たちは、花火の興奮冷めやらぬうちに、次の見どころへ移動しました。それは、舞鶴赤れんがパークで行われる「サマーイルミネーション」でした。「海」をテーマに制作された映像作品を、赤レンガ倉庫の壁面に投影するプロジェクトションマッピング、色とりどりの倉庫のライトアップ、来場者の動きに反応して映像が浮かび上がる演出など、いろいろ楽しんでいた皆さんを見て、文化のコラボレーションを感じました。投影技術と映像はとても最先端でモダンなものでしたが、浴衣を着ていた来場者は対照的に伝統的な雰囲気がありました。

Sai article umi festa_img_22After the fireworks, I went to see the “Smile Illumination” in the Maizuru Red Brick Park. With the sea as the theme, a projection mapping was projected on to the red brick buildings. Everybody was really impressed by the work, and as awe spread through the crowd, I felt like standing at the meeting point of two cultures: the modern one with imaging and projection, and the traditional one with everybody in the crowd wearing traditional yukatas.

終わりに - Conclusion

「海フェスタ京都」を通して、改めて「海」と「人」の関わりを理解できた気がします。昔の漁村であれ、現在のみなとであれ、海と共に暮らす人たちは海から様々な恩恵を受けてきました。日々の糧から地域の発展まで、海からいろいろなものをいただいたり、学んだり、未来につながる希望をもらったりしてきました。しかし今後は、海から一方的に求めるばかりではなく、これからも海と共に生きてゆくために、私たちは海に恩返しし、海に優しくするべきだということをより強く感じました。

京都では今、千年の古都としての歴史だけでなく、海との関わりが見直されています。「海フェスタ京都」の期間中、各地からたくさん観客が来られ、地元の人たちと深くコミュニケーションする中で、子供や若い人たちに「海」に関する知識を伝え、見せ、体験させることで、「海」を大切に思う心が広がっていくのを感じました。私にとって「海フェスタ京都」は、海との深い関わりが培った伝統文化を見つめ直し、「人」と「人」の新しいつながりが生まれる、そのような場所でした。そして、私はそこで大切なことを知りました。それは、自分のふるさとを思い、元気にしていこうとする心です。

目一杯楽しんだ「海フェスタ京都」を経て、舞鶴の「アツイ夏」が幕を下ろしました。でも、舞鶴での生活が長くなるにつれますます舞鶴に対する親しみが深まってきています。舞鶴を世界中にもっと広めていきたい、もっと多くの人に舞鶴を知ってほしい、そして、自分の力はわずかでも、舞鶴を盛り上げる仲間に加っていきたいと思います。

皆さん、「海フェスタ京都」は終わりましたが、これからの舞鶴にもどうぞご期待下さい!

Sai article umi festa_img_24

プロジェクトションマッピグ Projection mapping

Through the Umi Festa, I was able to feel the link between people and the sea. Whether a small fishing village in the past or a big port like now, people living next to the sea receive many blessings. From everyday food to economic expansion of the area, the presents from the sea are many, teaching many things to people and giving them dreams and hope for the future. However, I felt that we should not only ask from the sea but also learn how to live with it and give back, treating it gently just as it does to us.

Kyoto is not only a historical capital of a thousand years, but also has a strong link to the sea. Thanks to the Umi Festa, local inhabitants and people from many other areas could meet. Among those, many children and young people were able to learn, feel and experience many things about the sea. For me, Umi Festa was an opportunity to rediscover the importance of the sea in the shaping of traditional culture, and create new bonds with people. I also got something precious: the will to give back and improve my hometown.

Maizuru’s hot summer is now over. But as my stay here gets longer, I grow more and more familiar with Maizuru. I want to let as many people around the world as possible know about it, and be one of those who help make it a thriving area.
Umi Festa may be over but please come to Maizuru!

This entry was posted in International Exchange 国際交流, Maizuru - 舞鶴 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

