A very Scottish September! スコットランドらしい9月でした!

Hello everyone, Mark from the International Affairs Division here! Although we’re in October (already!) I want to talk a bit about what was going on during a very busy September for me.

皆さん、こんにちは。国際課のマークです~
(もう!)10月になったけれど、多忙だった9月の出来事について話したいと思います。

I mentioned in my last post about an event that I was going to hold at KPIC at the station on the 6th September. The event itself was called 「英国におけるスコットランド – Scotland in the UK and its future」and was split into two main parts: the first part being a 45 minute or so presentation that I made, introducing Scotland, the UK, and the main ideas and concepts behind the Scottish Independence Referendum held on the 18th September; the second part being a discussion-style Q&A session where participants could ask questions freely. The whole event was held in English, and I was very impressed by the participants’ ability to not only understand the content, but to also field their own questions about a difficult topic.

Scot2 

前回のポストで、国際センターにて9月6日開催のイベントについて書きました。このイベントのタイトルは「英国におけるスコットランド – Scotland in the UK and its future」と言いまして、大きく2つのプログラムに分けられていました。前半では、約45分にわたって、スコットランド、イギリスの紹介と、9月18日に行われるスコットランド独立に関する住民投票について、投票に至った経緯や現地での主な意見の解説をしました。後半では、参加者の皆さんとフリーディスカッションの形で、繰り出される様々な質問に回答しました。全て英語だったのですが、参加者の聞き取りの力だけでなく、難しいテーマも理解して自分の考えなどを英語で質問されるのには大変感じ入りました。

More than that though, I was so happy by the interest that everyone had in Scotland and the UK – I was kind of expecting to answer more general questions, but once I started getting questions about currency unions, the UK’s role in protecting world peace, and cultural awareness in education, I really was taken aback by everyone’s enthusiasm to learn more about my home country.

Scot3

何より、想像していた以上に皆さんが スコットランドに興味を持っていただいていた事がすごく嬉しかったです。一般的な内容の質問を受けると予想していましたが、実際には 通貨連合、世界平和を守るためのイギリスの役割や、教育における自国文化に対する理解などについての質問が出て、僕の母国であるスコットランドについてもっと学びたいという情熱に触れて驚きました。

Doing all the research for this event Scot4really helped me to understand my own situation and opinions, and although there was a time when I thought that maybe voting Yes would be a good idea, it was only fleeting, and eventually voted No by postal vote, as I had always expected myself to do.Scot6

このイベントのために いろいろ調べていくうちに、僕は、より深く自分の立場や意見を理解することができました。今回投票するにあたって「Yes/賛成」に投票するのが良いのかもしれないと迷ったこともありましたが それはほんの一瞬だけで、もともと考えていた通り「No/反対」で投票用紙を郵送しました。

Ultimately, as I think most people know, the people of Scotland voted to remain as part of the UK, and I am very happy and relieved. The results of the referendum were coming in all through the morning and early afternoon of the 19th September, so I was glued to the BBC website checking for updates and results all day. That is, in between interviews with various newspapers and even NHK! Friday was a very high-octane day, with a few of Japan’s national newspapers calling or coming to visit to ask questions and take photos, and NHK coming to film a short segment. With only 5.3 million people in Scotland, I can’t imagine that there are that many living and working here in Japan, so many people called me throughout the day to ask my opinion, although I think they were secretly hoping for someone who wanted Scottish independence…sorry!

結局、皆さんがご存じのように、投票の結果、スコットランドは英国の一部として残留することに決まり、とても嬉しく思うと同時に安心しました。19日の朝から少しずつ投票結果が発表されていたので、一日中BBCのHPにクギづけになっていましたが、見ていなかったのは、僕が新聞やNHKのインタービューを受けている間だけでした!開票日だった金曜日には、僕のところに次から次へと、いろいろな全国紙の新聞社が、電話してきたり、質問や写真を撮るためにやってきました。そしてNHKも短い時間ながら取材しに来ました。スコットランドには530万人しかいないし、その中でも遠い日本に暮らして仕事をしているスコットランド人の数はとても少ないせいか、一日中 何回も感想を訊かれました。質問者の多くは、スコットランド独立賛成派としての感想を聞きたかったようですが、残念ながら僕は反対派でした・・・。

Article included in September 20th's Sankei Shimbun newspaper. 9月20日に産経新聞に掲載された記事。

Article included in September 20th’s Sankei Shimbun newspaper.
9月20日に産経新聞に掲載された記事。

It was a very Scottish September with Scotland and the UK receiving much more coverage than I had expected. I hope that Japanese people will use this opportunity, as well as NHK’s new Massan drama, to learn more about Scotland and its unique culture.

この9月は スコットランド一色でした。僕の期待以上に、スコットランドやイギリスのことが報道されました。これを機会に、新しく始まったNHKの連続小説ドラマ「マッサン」などで、スコットランドやスコットランド独特の文化に親しんでいただければ嬉しいです。

This entry was posted in International Lecture 国際理解講座, Kyoto Prefectural Center - 京都府国際センター, Kyoto Prefectural Office - 京都府国際課 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

