精華町で国際交流サロン① – International Exchange Salon in Seika

Hi everyone! It’s me, Jake from Seika Town Office. Today, I would like to share my experience hosting my first International Exchange Salon, which took place last December.

皆さん、こんにちは!精華町役場の国際交流員、ジェークです。今日は、私が12月に行った国際交流サロンについてご紹介したいと思います。

International Exchange Salon 1 (Jake)My background is in Mechanical Engineering, so when I decided to host my first salon, it made sense to do it on a topic related to technology. This time, my salon was about American vehicles like cars, trains, buses and airplanes. A total of 7 people came, which was perfect because we were able to discuss the information rather than just lecture.

私の大学での専攻は機械工学でしたので初めてのサロンを行うと決めた時に「技術」をテーマにするのは自然なことでした。今回のテーマは、電車、バス、飛行機など、乗り物にしました。講座より会話や意見交換を大事にしたいとおもっていましたので7人の参加者はちょうどいい人数でした。

I started off with a brief introduction to vehicles in the United States, mostly talking about famous ones that many people know such as the Wright Brothers airplanes and the Ford Mustang. After that I covered a variety of new technologies being produced in the United States such as electric cars, bullet trains and airplanes. I even got to talk about rockets and drones for a bit.

初めはアメリカの乗り物を簡単に紹介し、主にライト兄弟の飛行機とかフォードマスタングとかの有名な乗り物の話をしました。その後、アメリカの様々な最先端技術について発表して電気自動車、新幹線、飛行機などについて話しました。ロケットやドローンの技術や使用の話も触れました。

Many of the participants were somewhat familiar with the technology that I introduced and some of them were even more knowledgeable than I was! We discussed the technology behind the Shinkansen thoroughly and I learned a few things as well. There were also many good questions about the information and it seemed that everyone enjoyed the topic.

多くの参加者は、私が紹介した技術について聞いたことがあるようで、私より詳しい人もいました!新幹線の技術のことを特に深く話して、私も色々勉強になりました。参加者がテーマにとても興味あったようで、質問もたくさんいただきました。

My next International Exchange Salon will be in February on the 26th. February’s topic will be about the production of energy in the United States. I will post again after that to let you know how it went!

次回の国際交流サロンは、2月26日に行います。テーマは、「アメリカでのエネルギー業界」についてです。また皆さんにご報告します!

This entry was posted in International Lecture 国際理解講座, Seika - 精華町 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

