Comfortab-LEE Brian 5 – 第5回まったLEE・BRIAN

Hey it’s Brian from Kizugawa. I had my 5th Comfortab-LEE Brian lecture on January 29th.

木津川市のBrianです!1月29日に第5回まったLEE・BRIANを開催しました。

This time I name my lecture, “The Basics of International and Cross-cultural Exchange: Talking to People.” From small talks in English to the tips of talking to people from abroad, I covered various topics such as Japanese compliments, frequently asked (rude) questions as a foreigner, and assumptions tied to appearance. Also I talked about the tips on asking about other person’s countries and cultures, and problems with the often-used Japanese word “gaikoku” (foreign countries).

第5回まったLEE今回は「異文化・国際交流への入門~トークのコツ~」というテーマにして、英語のスモールトークと日本在住の外国人に接する時の注意点について話しました。その中で、お世辞や外国人がよくされる失礼な質問、外見への思い込みなどの問題点を挙げて、外国人の気持ちを説明して、参加者と討論しました。そして、相手の国や文化について聞く時に注意すべき点を紹介し、「外国」という言い方の問題点を説明しました。

Compare to my other lectures, in which I talked about my culture and country, this lecture felt refreshing and more personal to me because I talked about how I feel as a foreigner in Japan. I am planning to have a part two for the subject.

今までの講演では私の文化や国の話をしてきましたが、今回のテーマは自分の外国人としての経験話もできて、私には個人的で新鮮な講演でした。このテーマの続編をしようと考えています。

The next Comfortab-LEE Brian will be on May 28th. Hope to see you there!

次回のまったLEEは5月28日(木)にあります。ご参加よろしくお願いします!

This entry was posted in International Lecture 国際理解講座, Kizugawa - 木津川市. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

